Planning Commission

The Planning Commission consists of thirteen members. Nine commissioners are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council. The Community Development Director, City Planner, City Attorney, and one member of the City Council are ex-officio members without the right to vote. Commissioners are appointed for a term of three years.


Duties and functions include:

  • Commissioners will make recommendations to the City Council on the comprehensive plan and prepared amendments to the zoning ordinance.
  • Commissioners will also consider administering subdivision requirements and conducting hearing requests for Conditional Use Permits, Concept Plans and Variances.


  • 6:30 p.m.
  • Third Tuesday of each month
  • City Hall Council Chambers

Agendas & Minutes

View Most Recent | View All Agendas and Minutes

Apply for West St. Paul Boards and Commissions Here...

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS:                                                  

  • Ben Boike, Community Development Director
  • Melissa Houtsma, City Planner
  • Pam Whitmore, Attorney
  • John Justen, Council Liaison

Commission Meets: 3rd Tuesday at 6:30 p.m.
Members Terms: 3 Years